Visit to LTL

Last week I had the opportunity to visit the now seven-year-old Lanier Theological Library (LTL), a 17,000 sq. ft biblical research library in Houston.  The library features over 85,000 titles in the fields of Church History, Dead Sea Scrolls research, Egyptology, Theology, Biblical languages, and more.  It is also home to several interesting artifacts, including a DSS fragment.

ltl-front

Below are a few photographs I took during my visit:

ltl

The LTL is actually a private library, built on the family property of Houston lawyer Mark Lanier, the founder of the famous Lanier Law Firm.  The grounds are also home to a replica of a 500 CE Byzantine chapel, where various scholars and public figures have lectured, including Larry Hurtado, D.A. Carson, N.T. Wright, and even Justice Antonin Scalia.

I’m very much looking forward to the upcoming lecture on the value of the Apocrypha by James Charlesworth, which I’ll be attending in March.

The LTL is also home to the private collections of many scholars; I found myself spending most of my time browsing the collection of Alan Segal (particularly the Hermetica-related works), but was most impressed by the collection of Abraham Malamat (professor of Jewish history at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem).  In light of my current studies, the many volumes on Egyptology are what caught my eye the most; since no books can be checked out from the library (as it is private), I’ll doubtless be scheduling many future visits.

Below is a photograph of the original DSS fragment featured at the library (from Amos 7:17-8:1):

amos7-8-front_color-e1382547361934

Line 1: Your wife [will become a prostitute] in the city, [and your sons and yo]ur [daughters] will fall by the swor[d], and [your] la[nd with a line]…
Line 2: will be measured. You will d[i]e in an unclean land and Isra[el will certainly go into exile]…
Line 3: [away from its land. Thus] YHWH showed me: [a ba]sk[et of summer fruit. And he said]…

Overall, I was very impressed with the library’s collection and the grounds; looking forward to returning in March for Charlesworth, whose lecture I will doubtless blog about.

3 thoughts on “Visit to LTL

Leave a Reply

